• Title : Before We Were Yours

  • Author:

  • Ranting:

  • ISBN: 0425284689

  • Format Type: Hardcover

  • Number of Pages: 352 pages


Before We Were Yours Description

Two families, generations apart, are forever changed by a heartbreaking injustice in this poignant novel, inspired by a true story, for readers of Orphan Train and The Nightingale.Memphis, 1939 Twelve year old Rill Foss and her four younger siblings live a magical life aboard their family s Mississippi River shantyboat But when their father must rush their mother to the hospital one stormy night, Rill is left in charge until strangers arrive in force Wrenched from all that is familiar and thrown into a Tennessee Children s Home Society orphanage, the Foss children are assured that they will soon be returned to their parents but they quickly realize that the truth is much darker At the mercy of the facility s cruel director, Rill fights to keep her sisters and brother together in a world of danger and uncertainty.Aiken, South Carolina, present day Born into wealth and privilege, Avery Stafford seems to have it all a successful career as a federal prosecutor, a handsome fianc , and a lavish wedding on the horizon But when Avery returns home to help her father weather a health crisis, a chance encounter leaves her with uncomfortable questions and compels her to take a journey through her family s long hidden history, on a path that will ultimately lead either to devastation or redemption.Based on one of America s most notorious real life scandals in which Georgia Tann, director of a Memphis based adoption organization, kidnapped and sold poor children to wealthy families all over the country Wingate s riveting, wrenching, and ultimately uplifting tale reminds us how, even though the paths we take can lead to many places, the heart never forgets where we belong..



Before We Were Yours Reviews

thumbnail Title: Before We Were Yours
Author:Lisa Wingate
ISBN :0425284689
ranting: 3.5
Reviewer: 1328 Reviews
Description: Two families, generations apart, are forever changed by a heartbreaking injustice in this poignant novel, inspired by a true story, for readers of Orphan Train and The Nightingale.Memphi

7002 Users Online Now